Scholarship Winners - E. J. Herrmann Cross Country Invitational

2018-2019 E.J. Herrmann Scholarships Awarded

The East Utica Optimist Club is pleased to announce the recipients of the Edward J. Herrmann Scholarships for 2018-2019. The organization salutes the three individuals who are the most recent recipients of the E.J. Herrmann Scholarships.  All are June 2019 graduates of their respective high schools.  The three scholarship winners are superb harriers, accustomed to the rigors and challenges of academia, and have made an impact on their respective schools and communities.  All have demonstrated the ability to overcome obstacles through determination, persistence, and intrepidness to attain noteworthy running achievement and academic success. 



Joshua Farmer is a dedicated distance runner who participated on the New Hartford Central cross country, indoor track and outdoor track teams.  He has competed in the E.J. Herrmann Invitational since a 7th grader, winning his event as a junior and senior and finishing in the top 5 runners as a freshman and sophomore.  He captained the New Hartford harriers.

Andrea Carney, the coach of Varsity cross country, indoor, and outdoor coach for the New Hartford Spartans, calls Joshua a natural leader and one of the most responsible student-athletes she has coached.  He has contributed to 4 TVL league and 2 Section III championships by finishing first in 3 of the TLV and 3 Section III meets.  Joshua is the recipient of the Section III Cross Country Sportsman of 2018.  He twice earned a spot running the 1600 meter at the New York State Public High School Athletic Association indoor championship meet, and finished 8th in the steeplechase at the NYSPHSAA outdoor meet.  He also competed in the steeplechase at the New Balance National Track and Field Championship Meet in Greensboro, North Carolina. 

Joshua is President of the Senior Class.  His memberships in school activities include the Ecology Club, Model United Nations, and he takes part in the campus radio station as an announcer and a reporter.  He volunteers in the community at the Falling Leaves Road Race, Delta Lake Triathlon, and the AK5K.  He is a volunteer tutor for youngsters in the summer program at the New Hartford Senior Center.  He enjoys working at the "Angels Among Us Food Band."   Joshua and his cross country teammates also organized a food drive during the fall season.

He has maintained an impressive Grade Point Average in a college preparatory program augmented by 4 honors and 6 Advanced Placement courses.  He will pursue a college degree appropriate for his goal in a career in sports management.

Joshua is the son of Liz and Paul Farmer. 

His running coaches were Andrea Lewis Carney, Peter Anderson, Tom Wells, and Bob Byrd.


Magdalene Jacobs is described by Queensbury Cross country coach Kevin Sullivan as "possessing the stamina, determination, discipline and character" necessary to become a role model for the team’s younger runners.  She was voted team captain by her teammates for her senior year.    

Throughout her years at Queensbury she participated in cross country and outdoor track.  Magdalene and her teammates qualified for Sectional Championships in both sports.  She also is a lifeguard and teaches swimming.  She is enrolled in the Athletic Training and Health Careers course offered by the Queensbury athletic trainer. 

Magdalene was instrumental in initiating a cross country buddy system.  This program pairs upper class harriers with novice runners, mentoring and providing guidance.  She coordinated a team online store to make available for purchase Queensbury cross country gear. 

She enjoys volunteering with a variety of community non-profit agencies.  At the age of 12 she began "ringing the bell" for the Salvation Army Annual Appeal.  She donates her time and energy at the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals.  Her Girl Scout troop has donated many items to the SPCA. 

Magdalene is the daughter of Monica and Mike Jacobs.

Her running coaches were Kevin Sullivan and Paul Allison.


Joshua Rainbolt is determined to make every second count.  He has endeavored to do so in the classroom, athletic fields, and in service activities.

He achieved All-Star status for the Frontier League Cross Country Championships.  Joshua captained the harriers last fall.  He twice was selected a Section III NYSPHSAA Cross Country Sectional Athlete.  He attended the Section III NYSPHSAA Coaches and Athletes Academy.  Joshua received the Section III Track and Field Sectional Athlete in 2016 through 2018.  He also participated on the Watertown varsity swimming and diving team.

Joshua is a member of the National Honor Society.  He also participates in the Environmental Club, Whiz Quiz team, wind ensemble, and jazz band.  He received the Daughters of the American Revolution Youth Citizenship Award, University of Rochester Bausch and Lomb Science Award and Scholarship, and Jefferson Leadership Institute Scholarship. 

In his community he volunteers with the Emmanuel United Church of Christ, Maple Days, River Rat Triathlon, and North Country Revitalization Concert Series.

He traveled with his family to Ghana during the summer of 2018 as volunteers with Cross Cultural Solutions.  He worked at the St. George’s Primary School instructing sixth graders in core subjects and reinforcing English as the primary language. 

Joshua is the son of Marie and Raymond Rainbolt. 

Jessica Lister and Brandon Marsdon are the running coaches at Watertown High School.

Past E. J. Herrmann Scholarship Winners

Ambruso, Alec
Ambruso, Amara
Arthur, Joshua
Ashton, Nicholas
Aziz, Jonathan
Beller, Deidre
Bronson, Kevin
Camillieri, James
Chaple, Richard
Cheney, Matthew
Choiniere, Katelyn
Contento, Nicholas
Crossman, Eric
Dalton, Alyson
DeRocco, Patrick
DeRocco, Vincent
Doney, Alexandra
Drescher, Matthew
Durso, Gennaro
Fanelli, Kristi
Fanion, Samantha
Gilgore, Miranda
Greene, Megan Wakley
Greski, Jacob
Hauser, Jordan
Jackson, Jonathan
Johnson, Joseph
Kiefer, Kelsey
Kobielski, Megan
Latella, Salvatore
Levi, Laura
Lincourt, Sadie
Marcellus, Adriane
Morris, Ryan
Murphy, Christopher
Newman, Kelli
Nicotera, John
Norton, Grant
Novak, Emma
Okanovic, Najda
Peek, Kelsey
Petzoldt, Emma
Phaneuf, Matthew
Powell, John
Reis, Brian
Reis, William
Roberts, Anna Marie
Roth, David
Roth, Jim
Soblosky, Nicole
Stedman, Samantha
Syrotynski, John
Syrotynski, Russell
Tanner, Meghann
Vainauskas, Nicole
Vandewater, Lindsay
Vroman, Heather
Waldeck, Kyle
Walker, Aaron
Washington, Reginald
Wetzel, Jonathan

© E. J. Herrmann Invitational. All rights reserved.